How to Delete a Discord Server - Step By Step Guide (2022)

It takes a lot of work to run a Discord server. You can take your server off Discord if you don't have the time to manage it. We'll walk you through how to delete a Discord server on desktop, web, and mobile. This is actually very simple to do.

Discord deletes all of your shared data when you delete a server. The Discord menus for this server are then blank. Before deleting your server, you must be absolutely certain that you cannot get it back.

Additionally, to delete a server, you must have the server owner role in Discord.

How to Delete a Discord Server on the Desktop or Web

Use the Discord app or the Discord web interface to delete a server on a Windows, Mac, Linux, or Chromebook computer.

Open Discord on your computer to get started. If you haven't done so already, log in to your account.

Delete a Discord Server on the Desktop or Web

Click the server you want to delete in Discord's left sidebar.

Delete a Discord Server on the Desktop

Click the down-arrow icon that is located directly next to the server name at the top of the server page.

Select "Server Settings" from the menu that appears after clicking the down arrow icon.

Select "Delete Server" in the sidebar on the left of the newly opened "Server Overview" page.

A prompt to "Delete" will appear. Here, enter the complete name of your server in the "Enter Server Name" box. Then select "Delete Server" from the menu at the bottom of the prompt.

Caution: You cannot recover your server after it has been deleted. Be certain that you want to delete your Discord server.

Description automatically generated with medium confidence

Your Discord server has also been removed. The server is no longer accessible to you or any other server users.

Read More: How to set up your own Discord Server

Delete a Discord Server on Mobile

Use the Discord app on an iPhone, iPad, or Android phone to delete a server.

Open the Discord app on your phone to get started. Tap the three horizontal lines in the top-left corner of the screen.

Delete a Discord Server on Mobile

Select the server you want to delete from the menu that appears after tapping the three horizontal lines.

Select a server in Discord on mobile.

Tap the three dots in the top-right corner of the server screen.

 

Delete Discord Mobile

Choose "Settings" from the three-dot menu.

Discord mobile server

Select the three dots in the top-right corner of the "Server Settings" page that appears.

Tap "Delete Server" from the three-dot menu.

There will be a prompt to "Delete." Click the "Delete" button here.

You are now ready. Your chosen Discord server has been deleted.

Video Walkthrough

If you prefer watching these instructions on video, check out the following YouTube video with detailed step by step guidance.

How to Delete a Discord Server FAQs

How can a Discord server be removed from an Android?

Tap a Discord server to remove it. To access the side menu, swipe the screen to the right after that. Click the name of the desired Discord server. After that, select Overview from the Settings icon. Scroll down to the Delete Server button in the Overview window. Click Yes to remove the server.

What happens if the server owner quits Discord?

An "ownerless" server will persist for some time before being eventually deleted by the service. Make sure to transfer your ownership to another server member if you want the server to remain active.

How do I ban the Discord server's owner?

You can view a complete list of every member who has access to your server in the Server Members menu. Hover your cursor over a user's name in the list, then click the three dots menu button to the right of their username to kick or ban them. To kick the user, select Kick from the drop-down menu.

How do I leave a server that I created?

Desktop and app: Right-click the server icon or tap and hold it. Click on Leave Server. On the confirmation pop-up, select Leave Server by clicking or tapping. Desktop: Right-click the server icon and select "Server Settings", "Members," and "Transfer Ownership," then click "Confirm." Switch Ownership

About the Author
Author: Daniel Luke
Daniel is a WordPress web designer with vast experience working with various WordPress themes that allows him to compare and contrast different themes, understand the strengths and weaknesses to develop factual, real-world reviews.

One more thing... Did you know that people who share useful stuff like this post look AWESOME too? ;-)
Please leave a useful comment with your thoughts, then share this on your Facebook group(s) who would find this useful and let's reap the benefits together. Thank you for sharing and being nice!

Disclosure: This page may contain links to external sites for products which we love and wholeheartedly recommend. If you buy products we suggest, we may earn a referral fee. Such fees do not influence our recommendations and we do not accept payments for positive reviews.

Author(s) Featured On:  Inc Magazine Logo   Sitepoint logo   CSS Tricks logo    webdesignerdepot logo   WPMU DEV logo   and many more ...